#8, #9, #10 & #11

by kajudkins

As part of the Giving Challenge I am giving a 45 minute”Listen” session to the 5th person who asks me through my Facebook Listen207  page or my email kajudkins@gmail.com. See the “LISTEN” part of my page for an explanation of what this session entails or ask me directly. In a nutshell though: If you would like to meet me (in person or Skype) and have a conversation/be listened to for 45 minutes send me a message!

#8: I gave my word.

That is really all I can say about that one. These lips are sealed.

Sweet Potato and Apple Soup With Cheese and Walnuts

Photo from realsimple.com

#9: I gave new parents some dinner.

This was partially an excuse to get over and see that baby! 🙂 and baby’s parents of course. My friends had a baby boy last Monday, November 3rd! I know they will be fabulous parents.

A sweet potato apple soup garnished w/sesame oil, pecans and cilantro. Side of French Round bread. Uhm, was super simple and they liked it 🙂 For someone (me) who has no baby rearing and raising experience to share the best form of support I can offer to new parents is food, conversation…and gifts from their Registry. Lucky for me, there is a need for that. We ALL have SOMETHING to offer somebody. I believe that “it takes a village to raise a child” business.

#10: I gave compliments.

This is so easy to do as I interact with hundreds of people a day. I wanted to do 9. It wasn’t as easy as I thought though as I only got out 7 or 8 of them in! My favorite was to a woman wearing a very adorable, comfortable looking skirt…I said “AH! Look at that skirt! It is so cute!……nooot that your skirt being cute matters to the person you are or anything. ::probably extended with another awkward statement::” She responded “…I think that is the best compliment I have ever received….” And we laughed. Because it was a very weird thing for me to say.yourock

I meant all of the compliments I gave. I realized how quickly I got into work mode and out of observing things I liked about people (article of clothing, funny comment, how someone is doing at their job etc). I told two new Team Members how great they did during their shift and they bit were a bit shy/surprised. They -like all of us – appreciated the constructive, positive feedback. We have been so busy at work that it is easy to look-over telling people how great they are doing. I told the Produce Team Member that she was doing a really great job and that it must be a lot of work to close alone. At first she didn’t understand my comment. I repeated myself and after explaining all that she had to do she said “…Thanks,” with relief. It can be difficult to take a compliment.

I am going to re-peat this one. I consider myself optimistic but it can be easy to fall to the pessimistic side and only see “what’s wrong.” If I am looking for things to compliment a person on I will SEE more things worthy of compliments. People also really appreciate compliments! Becoming a bit uncomfortable aside (as long as the compliment is appropriate) everyone likes to hear something good about themselves. I believe that this type of recognition is crucial in a work environment, people need to hear what they are doing right and when they are doing a good (great, exceeding the expectations of the) job etc.

#11: I gave my co-worker two boxes of incense and an incense stand.

I like to buy incense but I rarely burn it. My co-worker is a bit obsessed with incense so who better to give it to than her? She was very excited…

 

I want to give THANKS to you for taking the time to read this post. I promise you that I appreciate it! I feel lit up and it makes cense! OK enough ridiculous (but honest) play on words. 🙂 If you haven’t and would like to, please visit and “Like” my “Listen” Facebook page: Listen207   Thank youamazing

